October 2007

Jam-Packed Weekend For IGFA Fishing Hall Of Fame Induction

Ticket sales have been brisk for the induction ceremony of the ninth class into the International Game Fish Association Fishing Hall of Fame in Dania Beach, Fla. The Oct. 20 evening induction banquet will be the highlight of a weekend of activities in the Hall.

The weekend focuses on the five-member class of 2007 which includes Joan Salvato Wulff, the quintessential lady fly angler and instructor; Homer Circle, the dean of outdoor writers; Gary Loomis, a gentleman who revolutionized rod making, and two extraordinary bill fishermen Dr. Ruben Jaen and Capt. Peter B. Wright.

The honorees were selected for the important contributions they have made to the sport of fishing through angling achievements, literature, the arts, science, education, communications, inventions or administration of fishery resources.

The weekend of Oct. 20 and 21 will offer additional opportunities for the public with many activities and fishing presentations for visitors given by the IGFA Hall of Famers. On Saturday from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., the five newest inductees will be joined by hall of famers Stu Apte, Mark Sosin, Roland Martin and Billy Pate at an IGFA School of Sport Fishing seminar.

Hands-on tips and fishing at the IGFA ponds will also be a part of the Hall of Fame Family Fishing Clinics where young and old can learn valuable tips on how to become better anglers with the expertise and guidance of the IGFA education staff. The clinics run from 11 a.m. till 2 p.m. 

Saturday adults will be admitted for half price and children are free. IGFA members are admitted free. Reservations are not required. The hall will close at 3 p.m.

Saturday night will feature the hall of fame induction ceremony. Tickets for the evening are $200 per person and include the cocktail reception, silent auction, dinner and induction ceremony. The festivities begin at 6 p.m.

On Sunday, Sharkwater, the international award-winning feature-length film and exhibition will open with showings beginning at 10:15 a.m., noon, 1:45 p.m., and 3:30 p.m.  A shark expert will speak twice that day beginning at 11 a.m. and again at 3 p.m.

The weekend also pays homage to 65 Hall of Fame members who are currently enshrined and include Ernest Hemingway, Zane Grey, Curt Gowdy, Ted Williams, Michael and Helen Lerner, Philip Wylie, Johnny Morris, Don Tyson and John Rybovich.

Special sponsorships and sponsor tables are available. For reservation, sponsorship or further information, contact Ms. Arico at the IGFA, 300 Gulf Stream Way, Dania Beach, Florida 33004   Email: larico@igfa.org, by phone (954) 927-2628, or fax (954) 924-4299.