June 2008

Rob Gibbs


Arizona Sailing News

AYC Crowns Club Champion

By Mike Ferring

Mike Hester and crew John Mayall have repeated as AYC Club Champions  at Lake Pleasant. Hester was ahead by seven points after eight races and, in a gesture of sportsmanship, second-place finisher Skip Kempff (seven-time club champ) chose to concede and let everyone head home.

Even though in the Championship Race there's only one prize — first — here are the other finishers: Rick Johnson, third; Jim Douglas, fourth; Dennis Martinelli/Pat Blumm, fifth; Steve Brown, sixth; Stacey Loula, seventh; Will Zornick, eighth, and Joe Motil, ninth.

Fleet Captain David Rawstrom was the PRO and organizer for the event and C22 fleet captain Steve Brown turned out nine C22s for the day of racing that began with rigging and skipper's meeting at 8 a.m. and ended after 7 p.m. as the C22 owners finished getting their boats ready to tow back home.

Racing got underway with just one shot to the north before the wind slacked and the competitors were left drifting until about 1 p.m.,waiting for the wind to fill in from the south. From then on the breeze varied from a low of 3mph to a more typical 8, making for some close, hard-fought races.

Rick Johnson took an early lead, but then fell back, as Kempff and Hester kept it very close until the end. Many thanks to the C22 fleet, to the large RC, and to the competitors for a great day on the water.

Arizona Sailing Foundation Names Award Recipients

By Rob Gibbs 

For the 2007-2008 Sailing Education Season, the ASF was able to instruct over 155 students in the art of sailing.  Our programs ranged from as young as 8 years old in our Opti 1 & 2 program to the Learn-to-Race Program, geared for the adult beginning racer.

Every year the Arizona Sailing Foundation gets the opportunity to recognize outstanding achievement in its programs.  There is never a shortage of great spirit and excellent sailing in the ASF programs, and this year was no different.

The recipient of the Wayne Jason Tucker award for the "Most Improved Junior Sailor" was Aaron Sycamore. A new perpetual award was donated this year by Barbra Linderman in the name of her late husband, Jerry Linderman, and it was designated for the "Most Improved Jr. Racer."  Phillip Eason was this year's recipient.

The "Heavy Lifter Award" goes to the person who gave the most of him or herself to further sailing in Arizona.  This year's award recipient was Natalie Harper, the Opti 1 & 2 Lead Instructor.

Finally, every year US Sailing gives us the opportunity to name someone for the Sportsmanship Award.  This award "recognizes an individual who best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship in sailing" and requires not only dedication to the sport, but also the respect of one's peers. 
This year's recipient has been a member of the AYC for 26 years and during that time has held several offices, most recently the Treasurer for the ASF, and has put in countless hours maintaining boats and equipment.  This year the honoree was Leo Baumann.

Thanks to all the participant for making this year a great success!