July 2007

Safety First! What’s Your Score?

Quiz #4

Compiled By Tom Nunes

  1. Before fueling a boat with a built in fuel tank, you should —
    1. Close all portholes, doors, and hatches.
    2. Keep all smokers at least 3 feet away.
    3. Turn on the bilge blower, if so equipped.
    4. Open all portholes, doors, and hatches.

  2. Constantly watch the wake of your boat, because —
    1. You are responsible for injuries or damage to property by the wake of your boat.
    2. Your wake must never be more than 3 inches high.
    3. It can disturb the smooth operation of personal watercraft.
    4. You may see beautiful colors created by the oxidation of phosphorous in the water.

  3. When mooring and unmooring your boat, it is desirable to plan the procedure in advance and —
    1. Give instructions in a loud, authoritative tone so that the crew will know who is in charge.
    2. Teach the crew how to keep the boat away from the pier using their arms and legs.
    3. Always operate your boat at cruising speed.
    4. Approach slowly against the wind or current for more control of your boat.

  4. The best fire extinguisher for a recreational boat is one that is Coast Guard approved and that will put out —
    1. Paper, oil, and electrical fires.
    2. Paper and electrical fires only.
    3. Carbon dioxide fires.
    4. Halon fires.

  5. The skipper of a boat is obligated by law to provide assistance to any individual in danger at sea providing that the —
    1. Assistance cannot be provided by someone else.
    2. Assistance can be provided safely without endangering his own boat or crew.
    3. Recipient is adequately insured.
    4. Person agrees to financial remuneration.

  6. When launching a sailboat with the mast raised at a launch area —
    1. Just as on the water, a sailboat has priority privileges.
    2. Use a halyard to pull it off the trailer.
    3. Be certain that no overhead electrical wires come close to or in contact with the mast or rigging.
    4. Be careful not to tip the boat off the trailer.

  7. If there is an injury or death as the result of a boating accident in Arizona , a written accident report must be submitted to the Arizona Game & Fish Department within —
    1. 5 days.
    2. 24 hours.
    3. 30 days.
    4. 48 hours.

  8. Personal watercraft (jet skis) may operate at night in Arizona if —
    1. They have proper navigation lights.
    2. At least two people are aboard.
    3. Never.
    4. When there is a full moon.

  9. Three factors affect the seaworthiness and safety of a boat: its design, construction materials, and —
    1. Anchor.
    2. Type of head.
    3. Cockpit.
    4. Size.

  10. Which of the following statements is true with respect to boating in Arizona ?
    1. It is illegal to allow a person to ride on gunwales, the transom, or the decked over bow of a watercraft operated by machinery in excess of a wake-less speed.
    2. It is okay to block a boat ramp in winter since no one uses them.
    3. While water skiing, you only need a boat driver and do not need a ski flag.
    4. A watercraft with a 50 hp engine may have a sole operator who is 10 years old.