August 2007

NMMA Now Accepting Nominations For 2007 Alan J. Freedman Award

CHICAGO — The National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) is currently accepting nominations for the 24th Annual Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award.

The award, sponsored by NMMA’s Accessory Manufacturers Division (AMD) Board of Directors, honors the memory of Freedman, a former NMMA Shows Committee chairman and active association member who helped found the association in 1979. It will be presented this year during the 2007 International BoatBuilders’ Exhibition & Conference (IBEX), taking place October 10-12 in Miami.

The Freedman Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the marine industry through leadership, creativity and personal motivation. Recent past recipients of the award include George Bellwoar, Perko Inc. (2006); James W. Taylor, Taylor Made Group Inc. (2005), and Bob Selig, Davis Instruments (2004). A complete list of past Freedman Award winners is available online at

“The Freedman Award is the highest possible honor a member of the marine-accessories community can receive,” says Jason Pajonk, president of Taylor Made Products and chairman of NMMA’s AMD Board. “To be recognized with such an esteemed award is a true testament to an individual’s dedication and commitment to both their respective business and the industry at large.”

Any member of the marine industry may nominate someone for this honor. Candidates for nomination include accessory manufacturers, representatives, members of the media, dealers, distributors, or association staff persons.

The deadline for this year’s Freedman nominations is Aug. 24, and a nomination form is available for download on The 2007 recipient will receive his or her award Oct.12, during the annual IBEX Industry Awards Breakfast.

For more information or to fill out a nomination form online, visit and click on the “Freedman Award” link on NMMA’s homepage, or contact Rachel Francisco at (312) 946-6222;