What’s Your Score?
Compiled By Tom Nunes
Editor’s Note: As the boating and fishing season gets underway, safety on our waterway again comes to the forefront as the number-one priority. It is our hope that this series of quizzes will do at least a small part in making us all aware of the importance of being safe on the water. Although AZGFD, the Coast Guard Auxiliary, the Power Squadron, and the Maritime Institute of San Diego all offer valuable safety courses, the ultimate responsibility is with each of us.
1. In Arizona, whenever the boat is underway, properly sized life jackets must be worn by children:
- Every person on board must wear a life jacket.
- Children age 6 and under must wear a life jacket.
- No one is required to wear a life jacket.
- Children aged 12 and under must wear a lifejacket.
2. In order to operate a boat in Arizona without an adult aboard, a person must —
- Be at least 12 years old.
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Be at least 16 year old and have taken a boating safety class.
- Be at least 14 years old and have taken a boating safety class.
3. Because the U.S. Coast Guard recognizes personal watercraft (PWC) (jet skis, etc) as full fledged boats —
- A PWC must show its navigation lights when used after dark.
- A PWC usually has priority of movement in meeting and crossing situations.
- PWC operators must adhere to the same rules and regulations as larger boats.
- PWCs are exempt from all boating rules and regulations.
4. When you rent a boat, the person responsible for having all legally required equipment aboard is the —
- Dockhand who turns the boat over to you.
- Rental agent.
- Boat’s manufacturer.
- Person who rents the boat: you.
5. A safety-conscious skipper never starts a gasoline inboard engine on a boat before —
- All passengers are comfortably seated on the foredeck, gunwhale, or transom.
- Checking to see that there is enough alcohol and additives in the fuel.
- Sniffing for fuel vapors in the engine and fuel compartments.
- Checking the Sunday newspaper for the weather forecast.
6. When two powerboats meet bow to bow, which boat must stay out of the way of the other?
- Both boats; neither boat is the stand-on vessel.
- The boat closest to a northerly heading.
- The boat closest to the wind.
- The boat last to sound its maneuvering signal.
7. If involved in a collision, your first action is to —
- Check your VHF radio to see if it is damaged.
- Place fenders between the two boats to eliminate further damage.
- Account for and check the condition of your crew and the occupants of the other boat.
- Get the name, address, and insurance company of the operator of the other boat.
8. The registration numbers on an Arizona registered boat consist of —
- 6 numbers that must be 5 inches high.
- All letters spelling out the name of the boat on each side of the boat.
- Camouflaged letters and numbers so no one can see them.
- Block letters and numbers 3 inches high in a color contrasting to the boat color, the letters AZ followed by no more than four numbers and one or two capital letters with a space or dash between the letters and numbers.
9. Vessel equipment required by law —
- Includes charts and other navigational equipment.
- Covers all of your needs for the safe operation of your vessel.
- Is only part of that needed for safe and comfortable operation
- Does not include visual distress signals and fire extinguishers.
10. The “doubt” or “danger” signal used to express disagreement with an intended maneuver is —
- Rapid and constant waving of the arms.
- One short blast of the whistle or horn.
- Five or more short and rapid blasts of the whistle or horn.
- Shouting “Danger” as loudly as possible.
Answers to the “Safety First” quiz are on page XX of this issue. For more information, contact Tom Nunes, Coast Guard Auxiliary, at (480) 759-5548 or (602) 617-1979.